RSS

Homemade Apple Butter (Amish Recipe)

24 May

I love apple butter, and have since I was a kid. My grandmother grew up on a farm in rural Mississippi, and when I was growing up, she would make her family recipe in big batches and can it.  My grandmother passed on several years ago, but I can still remember the taste of her apple butter.  Sadly, her recipe has been lost, so when I got the craving for it and wanted to make it, I had to get another recipe from my mother. She tells me that the is an Amish recipe, so I have faith that it’s pretty good.  We have several Amish and Mennonite communities scattered around our area, and I haven’t tasted anything bad come from them yet!

Right now, my house smells so good!  The butter has been simmering on my stove for a few hours, so now the whole house smells of apples and vanilla and brown sugar.  Yum!  :)  Here’s the recipe that my mother gave me for ya’ll to try! I only made a half batch (this ended up making 3 pint size jars), because I wanted to make sure I’d like it before going all out and doing a full batch!

Amish Apple Butter

  • 7 pounds of apples
  • 3 pounds brown sugar
  • 1 cup apple cider
  • 2 Tbsp vanilla
  • 1 pint of water

Core, peel, and slice apples into thin pieces (I actually cut mine into bite size chunks and used my food processor to grind up my apples. Much quicker.).  Cook apples with the pint of water until the apples are soft, stirring constantly to prevent burning.  Add remaining ingredients, and cook to desired consistency.

To speed up the process slightly, I did use my hand blender to smooth out the mixture once all the ingredients were mixed together and the apples were really good and soft.  Also, I’m not sure if this is a crock-pot friendly recipe or not, so if someone decides to try it in the crock pot, please let me know how it turns out!

Oh, and I don’t have my canner yet (I had one picked up this weekend, and realized it wouldn’t work on my glass top stove. Boo!), so I looked for ways to store it without canning it.  I found this article on freezing it, in case anyone is interested (I just skipped to the freezing part!)….though I don’t think my apple butter is going to last long enough to be frozen!  :)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 24, 2012 in Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

